top of page
DSC09460 MGCC.jpg

MT COTTON HILLCLIMB SERIES, Round 3, 7 - 8 May, 2022 

Overcast skies greeted the 60 competitors for Round 3 of the Mt Cotton Hillclimb Series held over the weekend of the 7th and 8th of May.  Over the two days of competition competitors had the opportunity to have 15 runs

Once again, the Regularity competition was hotly contested with the result in play until the very last run of the weekend with Rob Souter just edging out Flavio Paggiaro by a single point over the weekend.  Sean Wade continued to display his exuberant driving style taking out in the Road Registered 1601 to 2000cc class, after also nearly taking out the fencing at ‘Lover Leap’ earlier in the weekend.  Phillip Rowen was a comfortable victor in the Road Registered Sedan Cars - 2001cc & over as was Rod Thomas in the Production Sports Cars - 1601 to 2000cc.  Brad Smith came ever so close to taking the Circuit Excel record from Mark Pryor with a record equalling run of 51.00 second late on Sunday afternoon. 

The fortunes were reversed from Round 2 in the Sports Sedans - Up to 2000cc with Tyson Cowie taking the win by the smallest of margins (0.01 of a second) from Gavin Taylor.  This class continues to produce some of the closest competition we have seen at Mt cotton over the last few years. 

The Formula Libre classes chose to wait out the wet track on Sunday, with the QHC only just around the corner competitors were showing caution by waiting until the track was fully dry prior to heading out onto the track.  Once out they put on a magnificent display of speed hillclimbing.  With Jim Milliner, Doug Daniels and Neil Lewis in keen competition in the up to 1300cc class.  However the ‘Big Show’ was provided by the 1301cc & over class with all competitors running under the 39 seconds.  Dean Tighe lead the field with his best time of 37.21 until the very last run when Dean Amos set a time of 37.05 second on his last run of the day to take Fastest Time of Day. 


The Top Six Shootout saw Dean Amos post a sub 37 second run (36.86) to take the win from Dean Tighe with 37.90 seconds. 

Fastest Time of Day – Dean Amos

Top Six – Dean Amos

Best MG – David Roberts

Photos below from Peter Buchanan. Click for a larger view.

For Sale now in Classifieds

bottom of page