top of page


MGCCQ holds several different Competition Events during the year. Click each name for more information. 

Some of these are:

Race Meetings - the Club has promoted at least one, but mostly two, race meetings each year. These meetings were held at Lakeside, Surfers Paradise and Queensland Raceway and are now held at Morgan Park at Warwick.

Inter-club Challenge:
Events held in an Inter-club Challenge include events such as Night Observation run, Motorkhana, Khanacross, Touring Assembly, Skid Pan, Regularity run, and Hillclimb. Club challenges are usually open to all members of the participating clubs with an award for the best individual who competes in the same car which has to be road registered and competes in a road legal setup during each event. 

Other Events - Other Events include Motorkhanas, Sprints, Night Navigation Runs and Ironman Weekend. 

The first gymkhana (now known as motorkhana) was held at the Mt Gravatt Showgrounds. Later ones were held at Aspley but the home of gymkhanas at Porter’s Paddock at Tingalpa was the most enduring venue.

These days motorkhanas are held on bitumen at Willowbank Raceway. Sprint Meetings are held at Warwick these days but were originally held at Strathpine, Lowood and Lakeside until it closed.

The Ironman Weekend was a popular event covering a Friday night Navigation Run, Motorkhana and Sprint on Saturday and a hillclimb.

Some events were then held at Lakeside with the most recent being held at Queensland Raceway, most of these recent events being part of the Ironman weekend.


Sadly, with there now being difficulties in finding venues at which to run these events, the Ironman weekend has had to be dropped from the calendar after more than 3 decades

Night navigation runs have been part of the Club’s list of events from the earliest of the Club’s days.



MGCCQ promoted the first round of the 2023 State Championship series on 17 – 19 March at Morgan Park.


This event included the opening round of the 2023 Australian Formula Ford Series.

A 23 race meeting programme which included three races comprising 45 laps for the Formula Ford series round plus two by one hour “Enduro” races for 3E Production Sedan cars as well as a 35 minute race for Hyundai Excel Circuit X3 category. These classes were joined by Prodsports, Sports Sedans, Holden HQ with Geminis, Racing Cars with Sports cars.

Craig Neilson (Mitsubishi Starion) and George Kulig (Howe Monte Carlo) shared to race wins for the Sports Sedans, likewise Tom McLennan (Porsche 991 Cup Car) and Paul Lucchitti (AUDI R8 GT3) in the Prodsports. 


Not so in both the HQ Holden with Gemini races where Joseph Andriske scored a clean sweep of victories as did Grant Green in the Racing and Sports Car category.

 Circuit Hyundai Excel X3 event of 35 minutes plus 1 lap went to Connor Roberts from Jack Wood, William Seal, Alice Buckley, Zane Rinaldi, Cooper Barnes, Tyler Collins.

Saturday Enduro for 3E Production Sedans with a compulsory 60 seconds pit stop saw the top six being Beric Lynton (BMW M3), Trentan Allen (Subaru WRX), Thomas Needham (Mazda 3 MPS), Liam Moyse (Toyota 86), Paul Keefer/Callum Ballinger (VW Scirocco R), Richard Shinkfield/Ettore Vosolo (BMW M3). 

Sunday Enduro was won by Trentan Allen, Jamie Manteufel (Commodore), Beric Lynton, Liam Moyse, Thomas Needham, Anthony Levitt (Mercedes Benz C63 AMG) being the top six finishers.

Australian Formula Ford series round from the three races resulted in Matthew Hillyer (Mygale SJ15A) leading the series on 56 points from Zak Lobko (Mygale SJ13, 51 points), Xavier Kokai (Spectrum 15, 34 points), Thomas Davies (Mygale SJ20111a, 31 points), Edison Beswick (Spectrum 14, 28 points), Conor Somers (Mygale SJ18A, 27 points) being the leading six of the 24 drivers.

For Sale now in Classifieds

bottom of page