top of page



The 2023 State title was captured by Dean Amos with a 35.82 run in his Gould GR55B Nicholson McLaren V8. Dean’s time is 0.57 seconds outside the outright record set by Malcolm Oastler (OMS 28 Hayabusa turbo, 35.25 seconds).

Second in the overall results was Dean Tighe (Empire Wraith Hayabusa Supercharged) with a 36.63 time followed by Brett Bull (Van Diemen RF03 Kawasaki turbo, 37.98), David Mahon (Hayabusa, 38.75), Neil Lewis (FLY 001 Hayabusa, 39.25), Jim Milliner (OMS 2000M Hayabusa, 40.78), David Quelch (Homebuilt DPQ03, 41.17), Michael Ciccotelli (Stohr F1000 Suzuki, 41.28), Luke Weiks (Empire 01, 41.35), Greg Tebble (Spreads RM11, 43.38).

Fastest Sedan was recorded by Tim Blake (Subaru Impreza WRX turbo, 44.54) with Gavin Taylor (Volkswagen Golf, 44.99), Ken Graham (Datsun 1600 SSS, 46.34), Brendan Merrick (Datsun 120Y turbo, 47.35), Derek Holstein (BMW Cooper S, 47.67), Daryl Small (Commodore, 47.74), Jeff Daniels (Ford Escort turbo, 47.79), Phil Rowen (Renault RS 250 Mergane, 47.93), Adrian Purcell (Subaru WRX turbo, 47.98 seconds).

Michael Larymore (Toyota MR2 turbo, 43.56) and Mark Crespan (Ford Cobra RMC, 44.78) continued their close encounters for the Glyn Scott award for the fastest Sports Car. Michael set a new class record of 43.56 to reduce the old record 43.61 which had been held by Mark Crespan. Next was Jason McGarry (Caterham R300, 47.05) followed by Jim Heymer (Farrel L clubman, 47.34), Zaid Latif (Lotus Exige, 47.96), Jeff Graham (Mazda MX-5 Supercharged, 49.44).

Best performance by a Historic vehicle went to Glenn Wesener (Holden GTR XU1) who was 1.02 seconds from the Group N record.

Best MG awards to Chrystellee Semple (up to 2000 ccs, MGF) and Flavio Paggiaro (2001 ccs and Over, MGB GT V8).

Fastest Lady award: Chrystellee Semple

Fastest Queenslander: Dean Tighe

Best Sedan: Tim Blake

Best Formula Ford: Rick Miles

Best average performance by a motorcycle powered vehicle: Luke Weiks 

Fastest Time of Day: Dean Amos 

We trust that you enjoyed the weekend’s competition.  Congratulations to the winners! We look forward to seeing you back at Mt Cotton soon.

Below are the Official Provisional Results and Split Times for the Mt Cotton Hillclimb Queensland Championships, promoted by the MG Car Club of Qld. Inc.

Click here for OPR.

Click here for Split Times.

Photos below from Ian Colley Photography and these and others can be purchased from his site

For Sale now in Classifieds

bottom of page